Tarf Gnams versus Go Pro

Tarf here! It’s a beautiful day and the local amigos over at Go Pro hooked me up with a nice little HERO Session Go Pro. I’ll take it as a compliment, as yours truly, that’s me Tarf Gnams in case you aren’t following, offers little sessions of his favorite HERO, that’s right it’s me again Tarf Gnams. Cha! It’s all about rising above and getting over that hurdle. Getting out to vibe on a sweet section. Cha, cha, checking out beautiful Mother Nature and all she has to offer.

This little HERO Sesh is a little pocket of dynamite and wonder. If I wasn’t already the 9th Wander of the World, this little dude certainly would be.  The housing is durable and sturdy. Simple and easy to use button. Reminds me of my girl. Cha! Totes, I kid. She’s a sweetheart. I love you Honey Boo Bear! But on the breakfast cereal, the GoPro HERO Session is great. We’re still getting acquainted but I can see a long relationship forming. And to think I was afraid of commitment. Cha Ha!f

To get the most benis (benefits) out of this little pocket wonder you can download three apps to your phone; GoPro Capture, GoPro Quik and GoPro Splice.

  • Capture: Allows you to start and stop recording or choose picture options. You can also view media and complete some mild video editing.
  • Quik: Gives you the option to upload short videos from compiled images.
  • Splice: Allows you to get more creative with your images and videos to create some pretty epic moments.

I’m just getting started but it is fun. Cha! Even though I love this portable video capturing boulder it’s not without its faults. The Wi-Fi signal on it is a bit weak-sauce which can cause some delay in creating your videos. Your phone needs to be connected to the Sessions Wi-Fi. And if you don’t save the video to your phone it takes forever and a day to upload the video to any social media site. But alas, this is only a minor setback.

The GoPro HERO Session does offer a little slot for a mini SD card. This is your best bet to store your sweet moments to upload to social media later.

The images and video captured are beautiful, it’s like I’m out in it. The mic is like rock concert quality. it picks up everything from a gnat fart to me shredding the gnar! Cha!

Tarf again. My videos wouldn’t be possible without the help of the GoPro Accessories kit provided by my fellow lifers over at Lifelimit. The amount of swag you get for throwing a quarter ($25) down is great but unfortunately it isn’t as great as it looks. The handlebar mount swivel didn’t hold. That screw was all the way and on the verge of calling in sick on Monday. Seriously!. For still shots it works great but one little bump and Humpty Dumpty fell over again. This meant I had to place the mount on the stem and the video is obscured with my handlebar. No bueno! Hopefully I can figure another set up out. The screw wouldn’t thread easily either. You might be better off with spending the extra dough and purchasing Official GoPro accessories. Lifelimit did have some standouts with the Selfie Stick, chest mount and any mount that didn’t have a swivel or moving part. More to come though. Cha!

Check the video below to see a little Do Wop Sections and some down hill on a fire road. The image is great and the sound of my voice soothes the soles of orphans. Cha! Check it! Tarf Gnams, the G is silent but I’m not.

Leave a comment